Insurance Requirements

The no-fault laws do not apply to motorcyclists.

Florida insurance laws fall under the “no-fault” criteria which means that you are required to have personal injury protection (PIP) coverage for your car or truck.

Basically, the state of Florida doesn't require you show proof of insurance when you register a motorcycle. Of course, if you're buying the bike on installments the lien holder will likely require insurance on the bike at least until it's paid off.

However if you have an accident and don't have insurance, you can be held financially responsible. Your driving privileges, bike registration and tag can be suspended and you may be required to buy PIP insurance for three years.

Uninsured Motorists insurance is recommended to protect you in case of a collision with a driver who does not carry liability insurance. Statistics show that Florida is the second highest state in the U.S. with 24% of motorists being uninsured.

Insurance and Helmets
If you're at least 21 years of age and have a minimum of $10,000 medical insurance policy, you don't have to wear a helmet while operating your bike.

2019 © Copyright Florida Motorcycle Rider

DANG designs, Inc.